Posted by: mindyrappoport | 06/20/2011

Back to Basics

Well, after five months abroad and a week interning, I think I’m finally starting to get back into the journalism groove!

This week, I worked on my first cuisine story. It ended up being on how to create a compost pile in your backyard, tips to keep from getting sick while composting, and how to make compost tea. The hardest part was probably either making sure I got all of the information about composting correct (the temperature ranges, etc.) or making sure that my lede was cuisine-related so it tied in with the section. In the end, I was really proud of this piece because I talked to a variety of sources (five, but only used three), presented the information in a pretty clear way, and pushed myself creatively–I’ve gotten to used to writing hard news stories in a straightforward style, so this time, I got creative with my lede. Unfortunately, I had to cut my story down a bit so a few adjectives got cut out of the lede, but over all, I’m really proud of how the story turned out.

I also wrote a few briefs this week, which was great for me because surprisingly, outside of class, I had never written a brief–yes, not even during my time at the CU Independent. Last week, I wrote some briefs as well, but I got bylines for the ones I wrote this week because I called, did interviews, and added new information. I am probably most proud of the one I wrote on Wednesday; I read the press release we got about The Rio’s 25th anniversary just 10 minutes before the end of my shift, called the restaurant, interviewed the manager, wrote up the brief, published it, got another byline, and informed the public about $2.50 margaritas! Humorous and not necessarily a hard news brief, I know, but it was entertaining and great practice.

If you want to check out the other bylined brief, it’s about registering for a Boulder county farm tour.

I’m not entirely sure what this week will bring, but I have a feeling it will probably be a busy one as we gear up for the 4th of July!

Leave a Reply

Categories

